27 July 2011

The second meeting of the General Assembly of the Association of African Public Services Commissions (AAPSComs) took place from 19 20 July 2011, in Abuja, Nigeria. The event was hosted by the Federal Civil Service Commission of Nigeria and Prof. A.O Afolabi, Head of the Civil Service of Nigeria, officially opened the event on behalf of His Excellency Dr. Goodluck Jonathan, the President of Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Ms PM Tengeni, the President of the AAPSComs, who is also the Deputy Chairperson of the Public Service Commission of South Africa, and delegates from various countries in Africa, such as Ethiopia, Gambia, Namibia, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Rwanda, South Sudan and Tanzania, attended the event.

In pursuit of the AAPSComs objectives of ensuring that public administration is effective and efficient, and considering that Public Services Commissions are the key instruments through which governments across the African continent ensure that the quality of service delivery in their respective Public Services is enhanced, the Performance Contract as an indispensible tool for achieving excellence in the Public Service in Africa served as the theme for the second meeting of the General Assembly of AAPSComs. As service delivery is a key challenge for the Public Service in Africa, this event has proven to be a successful platform for AAPSComs members to discuss and share experiences in relation to the following:

  • Mechanisms to hold public servants accountable.

  • Excellence and leadership in the Public Service.

  • Talent management as an approach to build a culture of excellence.

  • Ways to create organizations with a climate for excellence, high standards and continuous improvement.

  • The features of performance contracting.

  • Mechanisms to engage citizens in public sector management.

The President of AAPSComs signed the Memorandum of Understanding between the AAPSComs and the African Union Commission, represented by Dr Mamadou Dia, Director, Department of Political Affairs, African Union (AU) Commission. The MoU formalises the relationship between the AU Commission and the AAPSComs. The objectives of the MoU are, amongst others, to:

  • Foster better collaboration between the Commission of the AU and the AAPSComs.

  • Enhance effectiveness and exchange knowledge.

  • Promote the principles and values of the Charter of Public Service in Africa.

  • Advance the development of the continent by promoting research to improve public service in Africa.

The event also witnessed the re-election of the following three Vice-Presidents for the AAPSComs, namely:

  • Ambassador A Al-Gazali, Chairperson of the Federal Civil Service Commission of Nigeria who represents the West African Region.

  • Prof PJ Muzaale, Chairperson of the Public Service Commission of Uganda who represents the East African Region.

  • Amb MJ Simuyandi, Chairperson of the Public Service Commission of Zambia who represents the Southern African Region.

Issued by the Public Service Commission of South Africa, Secretariat to AAPSCOMS

For enquiries, please contact: Mr Humphrey Ramafoko; Director: Communication and Information Service; Tel: 012- 352 1196; Cell: 082 782 1730; Email: Humphreyr@opsc.gov.za; Or Mr Ricardo Mahlakanya; Deputy Director: External Communication; Tel: 012 352 1070; Cell: 079 769 7955; Email: Ricardom@opsc.gov.za; website: www.psc.gov.za 



 Complaints & Compliments Form | Webmail | Disclaimer | Sitemap | Links