The Public Service Commission congratulates Prof Somadoda Fikeni and Ms Zukiswa Mqolomba following their designation as Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Public Service Commission respectively

25 August 2022

The President of the Republic of South Africa, Mr Cyril Ramaphosa has designated Professor Somadoda Fikeni as the Chairperson of the Public Service Commission (PSC). The President has also designated Ms Zukiswa Mqolomba as the Deputy Chairperson of the PSC. To this end, the PSC would like to congratulate them.

Professor Fikeni has been acting as Chairperson of the PSC since 01 February 2022 and he is currently the Convenor of the Monitoring and Evaluation (M&E) Specialist Team within the PSC. Prof Fikenis areas of specialization and interest are political science, policy analysis, history, political economy, foresight and futures, as well as heritage. Educationally, he holds a BA & BA Honours (Unitra), MA (Queens University in Canada) and a PHD (Michigan State University). He has also held management positions at universities and in the public sector. He has chaired numerous boards and has been involved in organizational enquiries and development of strategies for repositioning.

Ms Mqolomba joined the PSC on 01 July 2022 and she is also a member of the M&E Specialist Team. She is a senior Public Sector Executive with roots deeply embedded in strategy, economics, poverty and public policy work. She is a Mandela Rhodes Scholar as well as the Chevening Scholar. She holds a Masters Degree in Sociology from the University of Cape Town and another Masters Degree in Poverty and Development from the University of Sussex in the United Kingdom. She also holds an executive leadership training certificate in the 21st Century Leadership with Harvard University, Kennedy School of Government, in Boston, United States. She is currently studying a PHD in Sociology at the University of Cape Town doing a dissertation on the professionalisation of the state and (re)building state institutional capabilities. She has won international, continental and domestic awards for her leadership in public policy and governance.

The PSC Commissioners are appointed by President Cyril Ramaphosa in terms of Section 196 (7) (a), read with Section 196 (10) of the Constitution.

The PSC is mandated to, amongst others, investigate, monitor and evaluate the organisation and administration, and the personnel practices, of the Public Service; and to also promote the constitutionally prescribed values and principles governing public administration in the Public Service.

We wish them success in their new roles.

For enquiries contact: Humphrey Ramafoko; Tel (012) 352 1197; Cell: 082 782 1730; E-mail: Ms Zodwa Mtsweni; Tel (012) 352 1070; Cell: 076 554 8890; E-mail:

Issued by the Public Service Commission

National Anti-Corruption Hotline: 0800 701 701



 Complaints & Compliments Form | Webmail | Disclaimer | Sitemap | Links